Dr. Achim Herfs

Partner Capital Markets
Kirkland & Ellis International LLP

Übersicht

Achim Herfs ist ein ‚sehr guter Anwalt’ und ‚begnadeter Allrounder’, ‚ein echter Coup für Kirkland‘. Er arbeitet ‚absolut lösungsorientiert und immer im allerbesten Interesse des Mandanten‘. - JUVE, Chambers

Dr. Achim Herfs ist Partner in der Corporate Praxisgruppe des Münchener Büros von Kirkland & Ellis International LLP. Bevor er zu Kirkland kam, war er Partner bei Hengeler Mueller in München und Frankfurt.

Achim Herfs berät börsennotierte Unternehmen bei Kapitalmarkttransaktionen, gesellschaftsrechtlichen Umstrukturierungen und M&A-Transaktionen. Ferner betreut er Kapitalgesellschaften und deren Organe bei allgemeinen kapitalmarktrechtlichen und aktienrechtlichen Fragen, einschließlich der Betreuung von Hauptversammlungen oder bei internen Untersuchungen. Des Weiteren berät Achim Herfs Emittenten und Banken bei Kapitalmarkttransaktionen einschließlich IPOs, Kapitalerhöhungen, Aktienplatzierungen ohne Bezugsrechte und Block Trades, aber auch die Ausgabe von Wandelschuldverschreibungen und High Yield Bonds.

Er hat einen Lehrauftrag für Gesellschafts- und Kapitalmarktrecht an der Universität Augsburg und veröffentlicht regelmäßig zu diesen Themen in Handbüchern und Zeitschriften.

Das JUVE Handbuch Wirtschaftskanzleien (2020/2021) listet Achim Herfs als führenden Senior-Partner im Gesellschaftsrecht. Handelsblatt Best Lawyers zeichnet ihn zudem als „Anwalt des Jahres“ für Kapitalmarktrecht (2019) und Gesellschaftsrecht (2021) in Deutschland aus. IFLR1000 - The Guide to the World’s Leading Law Firms verzeichnet ihn als hoch angesehenen Anwalt für Kapitalmarktrecht, M&A und Private Equity (2022). Darüber hinaus listet ihn WirtschaftsWoche als einen der renommiertesten Anwälte für Gesellschaftsrecht (2021) und M&A (2020). FINANCE verzeichnet Achim Herfs als einen von Deutschlands 10 Top-Dealmaker 2020 und Chambers Global (2021) sowie Chambers Europe (2021) empfehlen ihn für Corporate/M&A: High-end Capability.

Mehr

Qualifikationen

Zulassungen

  • 1993, Zulassung als Rechtsanwalt in Deutschland
  • 1993, Zulassung als Attorney-at-Law in New York

Sprachen

  • Deutsch
  • Englisch
  • Französisch

Ausbildung

  • Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität MünchenDr. jur.1994
  • Cornell University Law SchoolLL.M.1992
  • Oberlandesgericht MünchenZweites Staatsexamen1991
  • Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität MünchenErstes Staatsexamen1988

Dr. Achim Herfs

Partner Capital Markets
Kirkland & Ellis International LLP

Overview

Achim is a ‘very good lawyer‘ and an ‘exceptionally gifted all-rounder’, ‘a real coup for Kirkland.’ He works ‘absolutely solution-oriented and always in the very best interest of the client.’ - JUVE, Chambers

Dr. Achim Herfs is a corporate partner in the Munich office of Kirkland & Ellis International LLP. Prior to joining Kirkland, he was a partner in the Munich and Frankfurt offices of Hengeler Mueller.

He advises listed companies on capital markets transactions, corporate restructurings and M&A transactions, as well as corporations and their bodies on general capital markets and stock corporation law, including the support of general meetings, and internal investigations. Furthermore, Achim Herfs advises issuers and banks on capital markets transactions, including IPOs, rights offerings, share placements without pre-emptive rights and block trades, as well as the issuance of convertible bonds and high yield bonds.

He is a lecturer for corporate and capital markets law at the University of Augsburg and is frequently published on his area of law in journals and textbooks.

Achim is listed as a leading senior partner for corporate law in the 2020/2021 edition of JUVE Handbook German Commercial Law Firms. He is also honored as “Lawyer of the Year” for capital markets (2019) and corporate law (2021) in Germany by Handelsblatt Best Lawyers. IFLR1000 recognizes Achim in its 2022 Financial and Corporate Guide as a highly regarded lawyer for capital markets, M&A and private equity. In addition, he is listed in WirtschaftsWoche as one of the most renowned lawyers for corporate law (2021) and M&A (2020). FINANCE ranks Achim as one of the top 10 dealmakers 2020 in Germany and Chambers Global as well as Chambers Europe recommend him for Corporate/M&A: High-end Capability in 2021.

Watch: Shareholder Activism in Germany

More

Credentials

Admissions & Qualifications

  • 1993Germany
  • 1993New York

Languages

  • German
  • English
  • French

Education

  • Ludwig Maximilians University MunichDr. jur.1994
  • Cornell Law SchoolLL.M.1992
  • Higher Regional Court of MunichSecond State Examination1991
  • Ludwig Maximilians University MunichFirst State Examination1988