概览

全球精英思想领袖Neil McDonald赢得市场参与者的极力赞赏……他在公司重建和困境收购等多个领域的专业知识令人印象深刻。”
“香港顶级律师”,是“市场中令人印象非常深刻的人物。” - Who’s Who Legal

Neil McDonald为面临财务困境的大型国际公司提供法律服务。他将丰富的工作经验、渊博的专业知识和精湛的策略技巧相结合,就困境公司重组和破产引起的各类问题提供法律咨询服务。Neil还就财务机构、破产委任持有人、重建管理机构和对冲基金的各种困境问题提供法律服务,其中包括协助客户寻找脱离财务困境的利好机遇并实现这些机遇的最大化。

除了处理财务困境问题,在帮助身陷新兴市场复杂投资组合的私募股权机构方面,Neil也是市场领导者。他为发生投资困难的私募股权客户设计创新务实的“退出方案”,并因此在业界享有盛誉。

Neil是《亚太法律500强》、《钱伯斯亚太指南》、《 国际金融法律评论 1000》及《PLC律师名录》公认的重组及破产业务领先律师,领导凯易亚洲重组业务。

作为一位备受信赖的律师,Neil经常临危受命担任“战争顾问”,他清楚自己必须在巨大压力下作出艰难抉择,这就是他扮演的角色。他坚信在困境中应当采用直截了当的建议,讲求明确性和果断性,摒弃优柔寡断的工作方式。根据《钱伯斯与合伙人》,客户称Neil是“该地区最杰出的律师之一”。他“备受尊重,是客户的首选律师”,他是“一位可以合作的理想律师”,“在当地最富经验的清算律师中卓尔超群”。

Neil的国际投资人客户向其征询投资方面的常识性建议,聘请其对所涉风险进行适当评估,尤其在身处新兴市场时常混乱的环境中更是如此。客户依赖Neil管理并引导他们度过最艰难的时期:通常是若不及时处理并给予大力关注会对公司声誉造成严重损害的情形。企业知道Neil有能力帮助其度过难关并其解决自身无法解决的问题。

作为一位顽强执着的律师,Neil以自己24/7的应对率和从未退缩的业绩记录为荣。同时,他还是一个积极乐观的人,富有幽默感,能够向客户展示即便在最艰难的时刻也总有机会取得积极的结果。

更多

市场认可

 “亚洲最佳律师”,《国际金融法律评论》(2020年)

“争议解决之星”,破产业务,《基准诉讼亚太指南》(2019年)

执业资格

执业资格

  • 2002香港事务律师

Courts

  • 香港高等法院
  • 西澳州最高法院
  • 澳大利亚新南威尔士州最高法院
  • 澳大利亚高等法院

教育背景

  • 西澳大学法律学士1991
  • 西澳大学法理学学士1990

Overview

Global Elite Thought Leader Neil McDonald wins overwhelming praise from market players... He impresses across a number of areas of expertise, including corporate turnarounds and distressed acquisitions." "The top lawyer in Hong Kong" and a "highly impressive figure in the market."

- Who’s Who Legal

Neil McDonald comes to the aid of large global companies in financial distress. Bringing years of experience, a broad knowledge base and polished strategic skills, Neil advises on an expansive range of issues that arise in the restructuring and insolvency of troubled companies. Neil also advises financial institutions, insolvency appointment holders, turnaround management firms and hedge funds in respect of distressed situations. This includes helping clients source and maximize lucrative opportunities that manifest from financial distress. 

Apart from his work in the distressed world, Neil is a market leader when it comes to assisting private equity firms involved in tricky portfolio entanglements in emerging markets. He is known for engineering creative and pragmatic “exit solutions” for private equity clients who have investments that are in trouble.  

Recognized as a leading lawyer for restructuring and insolvency by The Legal 500 Asia Pacific, Chambers Asia-Pacific, IFLR1000 and PLC Which Lawyer? guide book, Neil leads the firm’s restructuring practice in Asia. 

As a trusted advisor who’s frequently brought in as “war counsel” in a crisis, Neil knows he must make difficult choices under great pressure — a role he embraces. A big believer in straightforward recommendations in tough situations, he strives for clarity and decisiveness and rejects fence-sitting approaches. Chambers & Partners describes him as “very well regarded – the first person to turn to” in trying times and “a dream lawyer to work with.” 

Neil’s international investor clients turn to him for common-sense advice on investments and a proper assessment of the risks involved, particularly in the often-chaotic environment of emerging markets. His clients rely on him to manage and guide them through their most difficult journeys: often matters that can cause severe reputational damage to a company if not handled quickly and with great care. Businesses know that Neil has the ability to right their ship in critical situations and help solve problems that they can’t solve themselves.

With a well-earned a reputation as a tenacious advocate, Neil prides himself on his 24/7 responsiveness and his refusal to never back down from a fight. At the same time, he’s known as a hopeful, upbeat person with a good sense of humor and the capability of showing clients that — even in the most stressful situations — there is almost always a positive outcome within reach. 

More

Recognition

“Asia Best Lawyer”, IFLR (2020)

“Dispute Resolution Star”, Insolvency, Benchmark Litigation Asia-Pacific (2019)

Credentials

Admissions & Qualifications

  • 2002Hong KongSolicitor

Courts

  • High Court of Hong Kong
  • Supreme Court of Western Australia
  • Supreme Court of New South Wales
  • High Court of Australia

Education

  • The University of Western AustraliaLL.B.1991
  • The University of Western AustraliaB. Juris.1990