Award Lawyers' Committee for Better Housing

Lawyers' Committee for Better Housing Volunteer of the Year Award

Kirkland received the Lawyers’ Committee for Better Housing (LCBH) Volunteer of the Year award. The Firm was specifically recognized for its work, in conjunction with LCBH and the South Austin Community Coalition, representing the Rosemoor Tenants’ Union in its lawsuit against the Rosemoor Hotel, a single-room-occupancy building on the Near West Side of Chicago. After facing retaliation from the landlord for reporting illegal construction and seeking assistance of counsel and a community organizer, the union won a temporary restraining order against the hotel. On the eve of trial, the union reached a favorable settlement with the landlord. For their work on the case, the LCBH awarded litigation partner Christine Payne, intellectual property partner Jim Medek and litigation associate Catie Cottle with their Volunteer of The Year Award, which was presented October 28, 2014, at the organization’s annual reception and awards ceremony. Senior Legal Assistant Darrylean Cravanas and Project Assistant Lindsay Pomazal also played key roles on the case.