T.J. McCarrick is a litigation partner in the Washington, D.C., office of Kirkland & Ellis LLP. His practice focuses on complex civil litigation, class actions and mass actions in federal and state courts across the country, and he has represented Fortune 500 and other clients in litigation matters involving contracts, consumer products, false advertising, fraud, and the False Claims Act. T.J. served as a law clerk to Judge Daniel A. Bress on the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and Judge Gregory K. Frizzell on the United States District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma.


Thought Leadership


Author, “In Defense of a Little Judiciary: A Textual and Constitutional Foundation for Chevron,” 55 San. Diego L. Rev. 55–86, 2018

Author, “Jurisdiction, ‘Indian Country,’ & A Critique of Murphy v. Royal,” Least Dangerous Blog, August 16, 2017

Author, “An Erie Doctrine for Arbitration,” Least Dangerous Blog, August 1, 2017

Author, “Minimal Contact: Reconsidering Personal Jurisdiction Over Absent Class Members,” Least Dangerous Blog, July 6, 2017

Author, “Securities Fraud & Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations,” 51 Am. Crim. L. Rev. 1661, 2014

Memberships & Affiliations

Federalist Society

Guest Lecturer, Trial Practice, Georgetown University Law Center, Spring 2016 and Spring 2018

Guest Lecturer, Trial Advocacy, Villanova University School of Law, Summer 2020


Admissions & Qualifications

  • 2018District of Columbia
  • 2016New York


  • United States District Court for the District of Columbia
  • United States District Court for the District of Minnesota
  • United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia
  • United States District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma


  • Georgetown University Law CenterJ.D.cum laude2015

    Senior Articles Editor, American Criminal Law Review

    Director, Appellate Advocacy Division, Barrister’s Council

  • La Salle UniversityB.A., History & Political Sciencemaxima cum laude2012

    with Honors

    Political Science Departmental Award