Press Release

Kirkland’s Ellen Jakovic Sworn in as D.C. Bar President

Kirkland & Ellis LLP is pleased to announce that Ellen Jakovic, of counsel in Kirkland’s Antitrust Practice Group based in Washington, D.C., took an oath on Friday, June 23 to become the D.C. Bar’s 51st president. Created in 1972, the D.C. Bar is the largest unified bar in the United States, with approximately 113,000 members in all 50 states and more than 80 countries.

Ms. Jakovic was sworn in by Chief Judge Anna Blackburne-Rigsby of the D.C. Court of Appeals at the organization’s annual Celebration of Leadership Awards dinner. Ms. Jakovic was elected in May 2021 to serve as the D.C. Bar’s president-elect before assuming the office; she will continue in office a third year as immediate past president.

“I am honored to serve as the 51st president of the D.C. Bar,” Ms. Jakovic said. “I am thrilled to have the opportunity to further the organization’s impressive work and to expand access to justice in the D.C. community.”

Ms. Jakovic is one of the top antitrust regulatory attorneys in Washington, D.C., and previously headed Kirkland’s Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act (HSR) filing practice. She regularly advises clients on the antitrust aspects of complex mergers, acquisitions and joint ventures, and is an authority on the HSR pre-acquisition reporting requirements. She also has experience with investigations by federal and state antitrust enforcement authorities, private and government antitrust litigation, trade associations and general antitrust counseling. 

A recognized leader in the D.C. legal community, Ms. Jakovic has served on the governing boards of the D.C. Bar, DC Bar Foundation, the Bar Association of the District of Columbia (BADC), and the Washington Foreign Law Society. She is a Past National Chair and Past D.C. Chair of the Fellows of the American Bar Foundation.

Ms. Jakovic serves on the Board of the Council for Court Excellence, and is a past president of The Barristers, the Women’s Bar Association of the District of Columbia, and the Women’s Bar Association Foundation. She received the BADC’s Honorable Annice M. Wagner Pioneer Award in 2014, and its Lawyer of the Year Award in 2019.